MILAN & LAKE COMO

Arguably one of my favorite places in the world, Italy is a country with the scenery, food, and atmosphere to make me pinch myself as I turn each corner. So, this Easter weekend, I traveled to Milan and Lake Como to spend several days enjoying the wonders (and most importantly the food) of such a wonderful place.

Arriving in Milan, I was pleasantly surprised by the warm weather and sunshine that greeted us as we began to explore. Walking around the city’s streets, there is no denying that Milan has earned its title as the fashion capital of the world. Each individual exudes an aura of style, from the scent of their designer perfume straight down to the handcrafted Italian shoes on their feet. Walking through the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, the marble floors reflect the shimmering lights coming from the many fashion houses that call Milan home, giving one a sudden urge to splurge on something new.

However, the most breathtaking aspect of Milan is undoubtably its famous Duomo. No words can do such a structure justice, as nothing mimics stumbling out of the Galleria and seeing it for yourself. Even more grandiose than I could have imagined, the cathedral is covered in meticulously carved designs, detailed with spires that shoot straight up into the clouds and surrounded by a never-ending line of tourists waiting to get inside. Each time that I would see the structure, it wouldn’t fail to surprise me and take my breath away with its beauty.

As the sun set on our first night in Milan, the blooming cherry blossoms that lined the city’s streets remained meticulously lit by the backdrop of the Duomo, and we made our way to the Rinascente department store. While here, we ate outside at Obicà, the store’s mozzarella bar on the 7th floor. This place gives you the impression that you are almost on top of the Duomo, as you eat a warm dish of handmade pasta while sitting directly adjacent to its clerestory windows. You simply cannot beat the view at this restaurant.

The next morning, we woke up and I set my sights on one of my favorite New York spots, Sant Ambroeus, which has a location in Milan. Although its food wasn’t as impressive as some of my favorite on the Upper East Side, it was nice to find a taste of home in a new place, familiarly decked out in the salmon-colored detailing that makes Sant Ambroeus so noticeable. Yet, this was only the beginning of our daily food tour, which continued with an immense amount of gelato and cheese throughout the city, frequently interrupting our wandering between hidden boutiques and areas that Milan had to offer.

On Easter, we made our way to Lake Como, a place that I have been eager to explore. Although we waited on many lines and took many forms of transportation to get there, we finally made our way to Bellagio, one of the most amazing places I have ever seen. It is hard to describe such beauty, and not even pictures can do such a place justice. There was something about the sun reflecting off of the lake, and the backdrop of the colorful villas and Alps in the distance that made walking through the quaintly cobblestoned streets so magical. While here, we ate at another restaurant with a phenomenal view, called Ristorante La Punta. Overlooking the lake and the Alps, this restaurant gave us a chance to try a local cheese and wine, as well as a delectable lasagna dish before heading back to Como to catch our train to Milan.

Overall, this weekend was one of those that felt like a dream. Although I love spending Easter at home with my family, it was nice to do something different this year and to see how a different culture celebrates the holiday. However, there’s only so much cheese and bread that one’s body can take in such a short time, and I think I reached my limit this weekend. So, to say the least, I’m happy to be back in London, and to eat something that isn’t pasta or pizza!

 

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Duomo // Piazzo del Duomo // (30-03-18)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Flower Power // Milano // (31-03-18)

Processed with VSCO with jm1 preset

Fluffiest Pizza // Spontini // (30-03-18)

obica

Views // Obicà // (30-03-18)

Processed with VSCO with jm1 preset

Spring Vibes // Sant Ambroeus Milan // (31-03-18)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Gelato // Milano // (31-03-18)

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Lake Como // Bellagio // (01-04-18)

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Loungin’ // Lake Como // (01-04-18)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Cheers // Ristorante La Punta // (01-04-18)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mom says:

    What an awesome trip and colorful glimpse into your dreamlike weekend in Italy!! Having been to some of the spots and others you “took me” to, I felt the excitement and tasted the food as I read along. The photography was amazing and my favorites were the cherry blossom and nightime views pictures:) Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment