MARRAKECH, MOROCCO

April 9th was a highly anticipated day. It was a day that I have been anxiously dreaming of since October. A day that I was going to cross somewhere extraordinary off of my bucket list. April 9th was the day that I was traveling to Morocco.

Our driver guided us out of the airport at 9:30 pm and sped along the dimly lit highways of Marrakech, while tiny scooters squeezed past us from each direction. We turned down unfamiliar streets, lined with Arabic writing and crowds of people, and pulled over right in front of a dark alleyway. My mind initially jumped to think, “This cannot be where we are staying.” We stepped outside the car on to the uneven streets and were greeted by someone who took our bags and led us further down the eerily quiet alley, my mind anxiously anticipating what would greet us at the end. We approached a small wooden door (so small that we all had to bend over to fit through), and I was instantly caught off guard by the intricate tile that laid under my feet, and the grandiose courtyard that took over my line of vision. The atmosphere in this place was so greatly juxtaposed with the area outside, I had to pinch myself to make sure I was not dreaming. This was Riad Mena & Beyond. This was where we would call home in Marrakech, Morocco for the next five days.

Riad Mena & Beyond truly epitomizes an oasis from the hectic streets of the Medina, and an escape into a traditional six-bedroom compound within its walls. An extremely personalized experience, the Riad gives you the opportunity to meet the other guests, form relationships with the staff, and feel like you are simply visiting a friend’s house in such a foreign place. As we unpack our bags in our room, nicknamed “The Traveler,” the chef prepares us dinner after our long journey from London. I was initially underwhelmed by the dishes presented in front of me, considering they were all vegetable based, but after trying everything, I was exposed to a new style of cooking that I had not even imagined existed. The spices, seasoning, and preparation of these dishes instantly made me fall in love with Moroccan food and peaked a new interest in me when it comes to plant-based cuisine. Dinner was even more enjoyable when we realized that the Riad offered no television and spotty Wifi reception, which gave us the perfect opportunity to pledge for a week of mindfulness and presence in the new experiences that would characterize our time in such a special place.

Our first day in Marrakech, we went out to the Musée Yves Saint Laurent and the corresponding Jardin Majorelle. As someone passionate about fashion and design, the museum provided me with a certain amount of context for one of my favorite designer’s pieces and granted me a new amount of creative inspiration. From the building’s architecture to the exhibition halls, and the curation of the pieces on display, this was a permanent exhibition space that was unlike any other fashion retrospective that I have visited. Museum scenographer Cristophe Martin attempts to offer a dialogue with the garments, inviting the audience into each process of design, with the help of sketches, photographs, films, and sounds. This is emphasized by the museum’s mixture of the essential work of Yves Saint Laurent, such as the pea coat, the Mondrian dress, and the safari jacket, with various thematic influences of the designer.

Jardin Majorelle was a truly magical setting to continue the day, and getting lost amongst the sprawling greenery and brightly colored detailing made drinking a traditional mint tea in this location so special. Discovered by Yves Saint Laurent and Pierre Bergé in 1966 during their first stay in Marrakech, the pair bought the garden in 1980 after hearing that there were plans to turn it into a hotel complex. It is now one of the most popular spots to visit in Marrakech and brings together shaded paths, exotic plants, streams of water, and numerous amounts of blooming flowers and wildlife within its walls. Just taking a moment to stand in the garden and experience the sights and sounds around you proves why it is so popular, and truly sets the stage for the beauty that exists in Marrakech.

We then explored the Medina’s souks and got more lost than I’d like to admit in the thousands of stalls within the area. People warned me about the extent to which you can get lost in the souk, but I’m generally good with directions and didn’t really believe them. Take my word for it: there’s no avoiding getting confused here. Every street looks the exact same, and winds down into small alleyways and confusing dead ends. However, this didn’t take away from the beauty of such an experience, in which we picked up various souvenirs, like lanterns, rugs, purses, robes, and scarves. I don’t think my tiny suitcase was prepared for the number of things I would bring home from this trip!

On Wednesday, we went to Bahia Palace to get our fix of traditional Moroccan architecture. As I had done a presentation on Islamic tiles in my Art History course last semester, I was extremely excited to see some of the tile work first hand here. Built between 1866 and 1867 by Si Moussa, the palace grounds sprawl across two acres of the central Medina area, and feature an amazing construction of 150 rooms.  In Arabic, “Bahia” means “brilliance,” and there is no better word to describe the atmosphere here. The palace was unlike anything I’ve ever seen, with strong shades of blues, greens, yellows, and reds symmetrically spreading from the ground and up the walls of the building’s open-air setting.

Thursday was our last day in Marrakech, and we chose to relax and soak up some of the sun that we were missing from spending so much time in London. We went up to the Riad’s rooftop, read a book, took a quick nap, and attempted to get attention from the Riad’s pet cat (Fritzy) before we were off on a camel riding adventure. Although we didn’t have time to do a traditional desert camel riding day-trip, riding camels (my favorite animal) in Morocco, and being led by a particularly hilarious and partially drunk tour guide, is definitely an experience I won’t forget any time soon.

Waking up at 5:45 on Friday morning, we were not prepared to say goodbye to our little home in Morocco. Even at this early hour, the Riad staff made sure to provide us with breakfast for our trip, and the delicious Moroccan breakfast crepes made it even harder to say goodbye. As I waited on numerous lines for EIGHT rounds of security clearance before boarding our plane, I knew that Marrakech was one of my new favorite places in the world, and I eagerly began anticipating when I could bring my family here to experience it with me.

Going to Morocco was a trip that I wanted to take for a while, and I am sure glad I did before I left London. Something about it changed my perspective and gave me an opportunity for self-discovery and mindfulness during an otherwise hectic time in my life. I will always remember this trip to Marrakech as one that granted much more than a simple European weekend trip that I’ve taken here, and one that expanded my horizons as an individual.

 

 

IMG_2941

“The Traveller” // Riad Mena & Beyond // (10-04-18)

B333513-R1-25-25A

The Right Direction // On Film // Rue Yves Saint Laurent // (10-04-18)

IMG_2873

YSL // Musée Yves Saint Laurent // (10-04-18)

B333513-R1-11-11A

Pathway // On Film // Jardin Majorelle // (10-04-18)

 

IMG_2905

Green & Blue // Jardin Majorelle // (10-04-18)

IMG_3078

Shopping // Marrakech Souk // (10-04-18)

B333513-R7-03-1A

Arches // On Film // Musée de Marrakech // (10-04-18)

B333513-R7-05-3A

Lanterns // On Film // Marrakech Souk // (10-04-18)

B333513-R7-01-00A

Snacks // On Film // Marrakech Souk // (10-04-18)

B333513-R7-23-22A

Tiles Everywhere // On Film // Bahia Palace // (11-04-18)

KOVD9929

Taking A Break // Bahia Palace // (11-04-18)

B333513-R7-13-12A

Details // On Film // Bahia Palace // (11-04-18)

IMG_3020

Floor To Ceiling // Bahia Palace // (11-04-18)

IMG_2641

Between Film Shots // Bahia Palace // (11-04-18)

 

B333513-R1-27-27A

Fritzy // On Film // Riad Mena & Beyond // (12-04-18)

B333513-R2-18-19

Getting Lost // On Film // Marrakech // (12-04-18)

 

B333513-R1-32-32A

Pretending It’s Chloe // Riad Mena & Beyond // (10-04-18)

IMG_2938

Camel Girls // Marrakech // (12-04-18)

B333513-R2-13-14

Mama & Baby // On Film // Marrakech // (12-04-18)

Leave a comment